The Commission has three non-executive directors who are members of our Board. They are not employees of the Commission and sit on the Board in order to provide independent advice, constructive challenge and scrutiny of  its decisions and performance.


Our Non-executive directors are: Dr Maggie Semple OBE, FCGI; Mrs Caroline Corby; and Mr Jonathan Baume.


Dr Maggie Semple, OBE, FCGI is a business woman. Maggie joined the Commission in January 2010 and is Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee, a Board sub committee, and the Commission’s Equality & Diversity Group. Maggie has been a member of several UK Government and European task groups and a Civil Service Commissioner.  Maggie works internationally and currently advises global businesses on the ethics of decision making. She is a Board member of the South Bank Arts Centre and the City & Guilds Institute. Maggie is cited in Debretts, People of Today, and Who’s Who in the World.


Caroline Corby joined the Commission in July 2014. She worked in the City specialising in private equity. As well as being a non-executive director of the Commission,she is also a non-executive director of the Children and Family Court Advisory Support Service (CAFCASS) and the Parole Board. She also chairs hearings for the Nursing and Midwifery Council, is chair of the General Optical Council’s Investigation Committee and is on the board of JML, a private sector consumer products company.


Jonathan Baume also joined the Commission in July 2014. Jonathon is also a Civil Service Commissioner, member of the Board of the Health & Safety Executive and a non-executive director of the Office of Nuclear Regulation. He was General Secretary of the FDA, a professional association and union for the UK’s senior public servants and professionals, for sixteen years until 2012. He had previously worked at the TUC specialising in employment law and equality issues, having started his career as a civil servant in the Department of Employment Group.